Long Live The Hulk: Another “The Avengers” Movie Review

(I do not own this photo)

It is so rare to me to walk into a movie with so much hype and leave the theater feeling that the film exceeded the hype.  Well congratulations are definitely in order to Joss Whedon, the actors, and all others involved making The Avengers!  Fun does not even begin to explain the experience to be had in this action/adventure movie with plenty of comedyThe Avengers successfully managed to make you know and like all the superheroes in the film without focusing too much on one or not enough on another.

I know everyone knows the synopsis but for the purpose of this being a review I need to state to plot.  When Earth becomes endangered by a vengeful God, Loki (Tom Hiddleston), who is in a search for the Tesseract, a cube of energy with enough strength to destroy the planet, Nick Fury (Samuel L. Jackson) the leader of S.H.I.E.L.D. has to assemble a team of super heroes, known as the Avengers.

An unlikely team with conflicting egos makes it very difficult for them to function as one.  Captain America/Steve Rogers (Chris Evans) has difficulty working with his fellow Avengers because he wants to do what is best for his country that he seems to have lost trust in.  Iron Man/Tony Stark (Robert Downey Jr.) follows his selfish needs and agenda which makes it difficult for the others to want to work with him.  Black Widow/Natasha Romanoff (Scarlett Johansson) and Hawkeye/Clint Barton (Jeremy Renner) are fellow S.H.I.E.L.D. agents that are not overly trusted because of they are affiliated with the group who has devious intentions of their own for the Tesseract.  Thor (Chris Hemsworth) feels he can do just about anything on his own to save the planet that he has grown to love but the others are not quite open to his help because of the fear that he might not differ from his adopted brother Loki.  Last but certainly not least The Hulk/Bruce Banner (Mark Ruffalo), who does not want anything to do with his less flattering half if the result is potential harm to others.  And that is to the best part of the movie.

I can honestly say prior to this movie I was not really a fan of the Hulk.  The previous films about the character made me think he was just unstoppable and could do anything which is kind of annoying in a way.  But Joss Whedon and Mark Ruffalo managed to make him the most loved character of the film by making him appear only when it is absolutely necessary and with a lot of humor.  I was very impressed with Ruffalo’s portrayal as Banner after being so skeptical when I heard that of all the possible actors, he was the one to get the role and I am proud to say I was wrong.  Definitely trumped Bana and Norton’s portrayal.  I do not want to give away key events involving the Hulk so I will just say that whenever my friends and I said to each other “Wouldn’t it be funny if…” and then the Hulk would do it, we busted out in laughter.  Joss Whedon definitely made this film with the audience in mind.

Final verdict is that Joss Whedon’s The Avengers is a must see action/adventure film.  I give it a 8/10 for its fun dialogue, story that give good screen time to all the characters, and spectacular special effects.

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by BecTopia on May 12, 2012 - 3:05 PM

    Your review has tipped me. I am now going to see this at the theater. hmmmm should I see regular or 3D?

    • #2 by rochpikey on May 12, 2012 - 3:12 PM

      My opinion on 3D is that if you are really into the movie you don’t need it. But if you are willing to spend the extra few dollars it does enhance the experience none the less.

Leave a Reply

